BLAHBLAH Down Undah!

19 Aug

Hi loves!

Did you miss me?!

I’ve moved to Australia for the year! In an effort to get way outside of my comfort zone, I’ve decided to get way outside of the States 🙂

Its funny how the first time I spoke to a stranger here how shy I was because I’ve never felt like I have an accent until I got here.

I’ve been here for about two weeks now!

SO. Big changes I’ve experienced here so far:

  1. The ATL Summer to AUS Winter: The change is not as dramatic as you’d think, its actually feeling a lot like fall here, with temps in the low 60’s to mid 70’s. Which as my ATL friends know is a great change from the 100% humidity and 100 degree weather-ugh.
  2. Driving is not so hard. I was so intimidated by driving when I first got here mainly because of the sides being completely swapped on the road and in the car itself. But, I chose to take a job in a foreign country which involves driving kids around, so I had to learn pretty quickly how to drive-all over again.
  3. I am trying to make friends! Literally about to friendship-hit on a girl who is serving me coffee right now. Worst that can happen: she says no, thats a weird thing to do and she has too many friends already, no room for more, she also hates my American outfit, theres something in my teeth and the funny way I speak is barely understandable. THATS IT.
  4. THERE ARE SO MANY BIRDS. For those of you who follow me on SnapChat (If not, you should. @Kayleeblahblah) you’ll see that I’m that fool in random places like grocery store parking lots filming random bird on my phone. I’m pretty sure that to Australians watching me, I’m the equivalent of the bird lady in Home Alone 2 hanging out in the parking lot of a Wal-Mart filming the seagulls. But guys, there are freaking COCKATOOS. Everywhere. Just hanging out. It’s wild.
  5. My host family are already my family here <3. Seriously, guys I got really lucky. Jodie, my host “mum” is so genuinely nice, and we both have the same sense of humor, so that’s always a plus with me 🙂 Jhai, the dad is also pretty cool,his interactions with Gracie are the best to watch.
  6. The kiddos are pretty awesome, too. We have Gracie, who loves anything with princesses and general girly-ness. She’s an old soul, as she calls me “my Dear” and “sweetheart” from time to time. After I spoke to my mom on the phone, I became a little emotional, and she was quick to cheer me up, letting me know that my “mummy will be back later” while giving me a big hug and stroking my hair-I melted inside from cuteness overload, so much that I forgot why I was sad. Funny how our roles changed a little that day 🙂
  7. Daniel and Wiliam are the older boys. Daniel is a bright and funny 14 year old and William is a sweet, soft spoken foreign exchange student from China. I write daily notes in their lunches in an effort to show off my skills in looking up fun facts of the day.

Thats all I have for now!! I’ll try to write weekly updates for you all ❤ ❤ xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

